Best of 2016: YA Book Madness’ Top 16 YA Reads

It’s been a crazy year. I’ve done so much that I never thought I would with writing and making blogger/author friends. Through all the chaos I’ve read some amazing books (though not all of them got reviewed). Last year I broke my top picks into categories. This year, I’ve decided to do an overall top 16 and then into broad categories. Tell me if you’ve read any on my list, what you thought, and feel free to recommend some of your top 2016 YA books!!!

BEST OF 2016 YA OVERALL 

BEST of 2016 SCIENCE FICTION

BEST of 2016 CONTEMPORARY

BEST of 2016 HORROR

BEST of 2016 THRILLER

BEST of 2016 PARANORMAL 

Pleasant reading, 

Jordan

Advertisements

2015 Top Reads

2015 has been a whirlwind of new books and author friends. It’s been a crazy ride that has culminated in my attendance at Utopia 2016 and potential publication.. we’ll see 😉

Happy New Year readers, this blog wouldn’t be anything without all of your kind words and support!

And now…

Top 15 Books of 2015

Omegaf5219-graudin_wolfbywolf

blood saltShattered BlueEbook-Defects-book-1-in-the-series6a00e5509ea6a1883401b7c79d54f8970b

tumblr_nkrq4wVfUF1tv8vcro1_1280Burned-Karen-Marie-Moningdead ofa court

darkest partokaywitch hunter

 

Happy reading and here’s to an even better reading year next year!

Jordan

Release Day Blitz & Giveaway: Queen of Shadows-Sarah J. Maas

I am so excited that QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Sarah J. Maas releases today and that I get to share the news, along with an awesome giveaway!
 
If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful series by Sarah J. Maas, be sure to check out all the details below.  

 

This blitz also includes a giveaway for a set of the first 3 books in the series (in paperback format). US only. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

Amazon/Barnes & Noble/iBooks/Goodreads

cooltext1889161239 copySarah J. Maas’s New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume.

 
Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .
 
She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.
 
Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.
 
Read Chapters 1-5 of QUEEN OF SHADOWS HERE!
cooltext1889178114 copy
     Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages. Queen of Shadows, the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, will release worldwide on September 1st, 2015.
     A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies. 
cooltext1892192940 copy1 winner will receive the first 3 books (in paperback) in the THRONE OF GLASS Series. US Only. Ends on September 11th at Midnight EST!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Happy reading,

cooltext1754437870 copy

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses-Sarah J. Maas

16096824Goodreads/Amazon/B&N/iBooks

cooltext1889161239 copyA thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

cooltext1889171582 copy4.5/5 Stars

+++Warning: A Court of Thorns and Roses is MATURE YA or NA. Some scenes are 18+ and there are several depictions of graphic violence and gore. 

A Court of Thorns and Roses is perfect for fans of Holly Black, Melissa Marr, Aprilynne Pike, and Julie Kagawa. If you love fairy tales with edge, dark and graphic tales of violence and peril, A Court of Thorns and Roses will be your new obsession. 

PROS:

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses is unlike any Beauty and the Beast retelling I’ve read. Combining the gritty horror of fae with a protagonist that can’t read, it’s a whirlwind of surprise and unexpected strength. 
  • The fae are wicked, positively sinful, and there’s no doubt that if they capture you, untold torture and sadism will occur before death. They’re vile, horrific beings who like to play with their food. Some scenes are intensely graphic and full of raw, brutal gore. If you like dark and twisted, add this to your TBR stat.
  • Feyre. (Sidebar: “So Cady. Actually it’s Katie. Yeah, I’m gunna call you Cady” I’ll always think of her as Fair and not FeyRuh). Feyre is one BA heroine. She’s not perfect. She accepts her faults and emphasizes her strengths. Feyre is inventive, quick, and crafty, she is a problem solver who despite her terrible circumstances, flips the switch on her fear and channels her inner warrior. She’s a lesson in perseverance, selflessness, and inner strength. Feyre loves deeply when she opens her heart and challenges expectations. Feyre shows the reader the beautiful resilience of the human spirit and what we’re capable of if we push ourselves and have faith. 
  • The variety of fae, their mannerisms, their descriptions are straight out of nightmares. Each is unique and leaves a lasting impression. The dangers are real and there are several moments where you’ll wait on bated breath, hoping against all odds for Feyre’s safety.
  • Tamlin is introverted, quiet, and stand-offish. Scarred by his past and melancholy, Tamlin is not your typical romantic lead. He’s brooding and awkward, he insults as often as he compliments (not on purpose) and doesn’t know how to socialize. And yet…Tamlin is a beautiful soul when he opens up. He’s light and attentive, he does everything in his power to make Feyre feel comfortable and welcome. The scene with the starlight lake. OMG swoon. 
  • Together, Feyre and Tamlin are passion incarnate. They’re aggressive, charged, the attraction is primal and fierce. The heat jumps off the pages.
  • Lucien is a jerk. He’s cocky, bold, decietful, and puts Feyre in unnecessary danger for laughs. He’s got a wild side that is mildly tantalizing and his sarcasm is addictive. There’s just something about him that draws. Lucien brings both darkness and light to the plot. He’s protective, angry, and has a past that is horrendous. Despite his serious issues, Lucien’s tale is a harrowing one of so much pain that you can’t help put root for his survival and happiness. 
  • Amarantha is a sick and terrifying villain. Just when you think she can’t possibly get worse, she throws another curve ball that will make you shiver. 
  • Rhysand is sexy and sinister. The perfect temptation. He’s much more than he seems on the surface. He’s a complex character that you’ll love to hate.

CONS:

  • The 3 trials were a bit of a let down. The second especially had a quick fix that left me feeling dissatisfied. 
  • Towards the end, several scenes blurred together as Feyre slipped into hopeless intoxication. The in-between was a little slow.

If you like any of the following, you’ll enjoy this:

2095863292f25-kissoffire21520203Tithe_A_Modern_Faerie_Tale

24a20b1f8f42e1da7ef5e67f0f044b2a51RDPOXlkXLwings_cover_UKc79e1-thewinterpeople500

6076413bonescoverJulie_kagawa-theironkingBTL_Cover_1563x2500

cooltext1915142005 copy