Review: The Conspiracy of Us-Maggie Hall

17134589Goodreads/Amazon/B&N/iBooks

cooltext1889161239 copyA fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance–perfect for fans of Ally Carter.

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead. To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with.

cooltext1889171582 copy3/5 Stars

The Conspiracy of Us is a thrilling mystery rich in historical puzzles and political intrigue. Part treasure hunt and wild goose chase, The Conspiracy of Us is a whirlwind of adrenaline, violence, and pageantry.

PROS:

  • The historical reference to Alexander the Great, Egypt, and the trek across the world scrambling for clues was colorful and engaging. Glimpses of Paris, Istanbul, and other countries were a cultural explosion of light. The 12 houses, their symbols, the genetics, it all combined for layers of lies, deceit, and mystery that gave the story a very Da Vinci Code
  • Stellan, be still my Slav loving heart! Deadly, semi-vicious, enigmatic, Stellan has a bad boy image with dazzling good looks. Underneath the deadly exterior is a playful flirt whose emotions are sporadic. One moment hot, the next murderous, you never know quite what you’re going to get. Besides his mystique, Stellan is after Avery’s heart. It goes beyond the questionable nature of her heritage, the pet name he gives her, the accent, his love for his sister will melt your heart.
  • Luc was a pleasant surprise of a character. He’s got flair and style, he’s charismatic and deep, there’s something about him that you can relate to.
  • There was a twist that took a supernatural turn that was so unexpected that it left me reeling, had no idea where it came from. THAT ENDING.

CONS:

  • Plot clues were blatant and so obvious that it was easy to stay steps ahead of the characters (for the most part). Parts that should have shocked fell flat because there were so many clues. At the same time, the clues left by Emerson were bare bones hints that were near impossible to sift through. How Avery and Jack make sense of them is a tad farfetched and oddly enough, too simple.
  • Avery lacked development. There wasn’t a lot of personal or emotional information about her. I had a hard time connecting with her because so much of who she is as a person was missing. I had several questions about this mysterious, closed-off girl that were left unanswered. Avery’s likes and dislikes, her passions were left out and it made it difficult to attach a distinct personality to her character.
  • Chemistry between Avery and Jack was off. Their actions are overwhelming and disconnected. The extent of Avery’s feelings and the escalation didn’t add up, there wasn’t substantial build up or even instalove…It just was and it seemed random.

If you like any of the following, you’ll enjoy this:

2257127581eFjabvDxL6824e-pieces2bof2brevenge_ebooklgHeistsoceity         cooltext1754437870 copy

Advertisements

Release Day Blitz: Omega City-Diana Peterfreund

Coming this April 28th, Diana’s first book for readers eight and up is a thrilling adventure story, perfect for people who like their books with a side of rocketships and hidden treasure. Find out what secrets are hidden beneath the Maryland countryside in…

OmegaCityGoodreads/Amazon/B&N/iBooks

cooltext1889161239 copyGillian Seagret doesn’t listen to people who say her father’s a crackpot. His conspiracy theories about the lost technology of Cold War-era rocket scientist Dr. Aloysius Underberg may have cost him his job and forced the family to move to a cottage in the sticks, but Gillian knows he’s right, and plans to prove it.

When she discovers a missing page from Dr. Unerberg’s diary in her father’s mess of an office, she thinks she’s found a big piece of the puzzle–a space-themed riddle promising to lead to Dr. Underberg’s greatest invention. Enlisting the help of her skeptical younger brother, Eric, her best friend, Savannah, and Howard, their NASA-obsessed schoolmate, Gillian sets off into the ruins of a vast doomsday bunker, deep within the earth.

But they aren’t alone inside its dark and flooded halls. Now Gillian and her friends must race to explore OMEGA CITY and find the answers they need. For while Gillian wants to save her dad’s reputation by bringing Dr. Underberg’s secrets to light, there are others who will stop at nothing to make sure they stay buried…forever.

GoodReads | IndieBound | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Apple iBooks

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING

“With seamless writing, a thrilling plot, lots of engaging science puzzles, and remarkable characterization, Peterfreund’s exciting tale keeps the adventure solidly in the foreground. Young readers looking for a page turning quest should get into this planned series on the ground floor.” — Booklist *Starred* Review

“Peterfreund’s focus on character development is complemented by the equal attention she gives to the vast underground city itself. Gillian’s instincts to protect her friends and clear her historian father’s tarnished name are admirable, but Peterfreund gives every character the opportunity to grow, revealing themselves for who they really are.”Publishers Weekly

“With nonstop action, sly humor, and nothing short of the end of the world at stake, Omega City is the alpha book in a new series that mashes up mystery, scifi, and action/adventure into a thrilling novel you’ll want to devour in one sitting. I did, and I can’t wait to read what comes next!”Peter Lerangis, New York Times Bestselling author of the Seven Wonders series

“Peterfreund’s boundless imagination takes on a new and exciting adventure!”Jessica Day George, New York Times Bestselling author of Tuesdays at the Castle”

“Diana Peterfreund takes us to an underground city that’s utterly mind-blowing, yet disturbingly possible. A knockout of a story that will have readers cheering straight through to the final, shocking, twist.” — #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman

cooltext1889178114 copy

DPeterfreund-smallpicDiana Peterfreund has published ten novels for adults, teens, and kids, including the four-book Secret Society Girl series (Bantam Dell), the “killer unicorn novels” Rampant and Ascendant (Harper Teen), For Darkness Shows the Stars (a post-apocalyptic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion), and Across a Star-Swept Sea (inspired by the classic series The Scarlet Pimpernel). Her newest novel, OMEGA CITY, is a contemporary adventure novel for younger readers set in a secret bunker city somewhere under modern Maryland.

Her works have been named to the New York Public Library’s Books for the Teen Age list, the Capitol Choices (metro DC-area) reading list, and the Texas Lonestar List, as well as having been named to Amazon’s Best Books of the Year. In addition, she’s written several critically acclaimed short stories and a variety of non-fiction essays about popular children’s literature. Diana lives outside Washington D.C., with her family.

Website /Facebook /Twitter

Keep reading,

cooltext1915142005 copy