Guest Post: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading


kittyhawknewcoverGoodreads/Amazon

syn

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new young adult series of adventure mystery stories by Iain Reading. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations. 

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales, Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty’s adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada. As the plot continues to unfold, this spirited story will have readers anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada’s Yukon.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a perfect book to fire the imagination of readers of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history this book will inspire anyone to learn and experience more for themselves. 

There are currently five books in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (book 1), Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost (book 2), Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (book 3), and Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (book 4), and Kitty Hawk and the Mystery of the Masterpieces (book 5). Each book can be read as a standalone.

guest

Is it Writer’s Block… or?

This morning as I walked through the cold and foggy pre-dawn I was thinking about writer’s block.  This is a common thinking topic of mine since I have been led to believe that Writer’s Block is something to be terrified of – at least that’s what years of television, movies and the Internet have taught me.

I should probably mention that I have accomplished very little writing over the course of the past year or more.  I have been very busy and distracted, you see.  But does that count as Writer’s Block?  Not really, according to wisdom of television, movies and the Internet, but still I wonder.

My usual writing process involves thinking and imagining the flow of the story ahead of time, then sitting down to actually write it.  But what I have learned (I think) from my being so busy over the last 18 months is that I have no time to think and imagine.  And with no thinking or imagining ahead of time, I therefore don’t sit down and write.  I still WANT to be writing, but my normal process doesn’t seem to work in these busy circumstances.

So what has that taught me?

I think it’s taught me that sometimes you just have to sit down and write and see where it takes you.  You’ll know inside if it’s going somewhere good, or if it’s just blah, or if (god forbid) it completely derails and goes off the track into the woods (which is also a good place to go sometimes too, right?).

In essence, I have learned what the wisdom of television, movies and the Internet has said all along.  Just write.  No matter what.

And maybe when I am spending those early morning walks wondering if I have Writer’s Block or not, then maybe I should spend that luxury of time thinking and imagining instead.  Right?

Right.

I think.

authoriain-readingFacebook/Twitter/Goodreads

Iain Reading is passionate about Root Beer, music, and writing. He is Canadian, but currently resides in the Netherlands working for the United Nations.

Iain is the author of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series, The Wizards of Waterfire Series, and the dragon of the month club. To learn more, go to http://www.amazon.com/Iain-Reading/e/B00B0NGI6Q/

Adventurous reading, 

Jordan

 

Leave a Reply

