ARC Review & Giveaway: Lost Stars by Lisa Selin Davis


lost-stars-bannloststars_hres Amazon/Barnes & Noble/iBooks/Goodreads

syn

Before her older sister, Ginny, died, Carrie was a science nerd, obsessively tracking her beloved Vira comet. But now that Ginny is gone, sixteen-year-old Carrie finds herself within the orbit of Ginny’s friends, a close-knit group of seniors who skip school, obsess over bands (not science), and party hard.

Fed up with Carrie’s behavior, her father enrolls her in a summer work camp at a local state park. Carrie actually likes the days spent in nature. And when she meets Dean, a guy who likes the real Carrie—astrophysics obsessions and all—she starts to get to the heart of who she is and who she wants to be. 

Praise for LOST STARS

“A moving real-life problem novel…Fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park and Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower will dig this book.”

—School Library Journal 

“Lost Stars is a novel for anyone who’s every grappled with their own place in the universe.”

—PopSugar, Best YA of 2016 

“Davis makes the 1980s shine…[and] makes interesting connections between science and teen angst.”

—Kirkus Reviews

review

***I received this ARC as a gift in exchange for an honest review and participation in this tour 

Lost Stars is a gritty and realistic coming of age story. Set in the 1980s, music and drug use functions high in the backdrop as part of being a teenager and fitting in. Lost Stars is about loss, finding yourself, and the dangers of becoming numb, refusing to process emotions, and letting it all boil over into something that is too much, too scarring, and too depressing to cope with. 

Carrie is a frustrating character. She’s moody, full of angsty feelings and so rebellious. She lashes out, she screams, she’s rude and slightly annoying, but suffers from crippling self-doubt and a desperate desire to fit in. She’s complex, real, and like an annoying kid sister on the brink of womanhood trying hard to find out what life is all about. Carrie’s sarcasm can be grating, but it can also be funny. She’s super awkward and a little moon-eyed and obsessive over the concept of love. She keeps waiting to find out when it will “be her turn” to grow up. At the same time, Carrie has a deep-rooted sadness and melancholy about her. She hasn’t dealt with her sister’s death. As much as she hides it and has some startling moments of revelation and happiness, that glowing sensation that you feel when you feel a loved one you’ve lost presence around you again. 

Carrie is complicated and full of surprises. She’s so self-conscious though and I think that’s an important characterization to show. So often in YA now, we are presented with girls who are fierce, confident, and independent, but not all girls are like that, some girls are going through things and it’s not always in them to be strong, sometimes they have to break before they can rebuild. 

The setting will transport you. There are constant references to the 80s. From the clothes, to the slang, to the music. It’s all well thought out and consistent.

The pacing is a little slow for my taste, but it’s on par for your average coming of age drama.

If you like things like The Perks of Being a Wallflower or Paper Towns, you’ll like this.

authorlisadstoop

I’m super crazy excited to have my first YA novel, Lost Stars, come out in October 2016. I also have a novel for grownups called Belly, published by Little, Brown a few years ago. For the last 12 years or so, I’ve paid my rent by writing articles for The New York Times, Time, The Wall Street Journal and a zillion other publications. Before that I worked in film and TV, doing props and other art department jobs, including a four-year stint making props for Nickelodeon’s Blue’s Clues. I live in Brooklyn (but, hey, I moved here before it was cool) with my hubby, two kiddos and our kitty.

Website | Twitter |Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of LOST STARS, US Only.

a rafflecopter giveaway

Week Two:

10/3/2016- Here’s to Happy Endings- Review

10/4/2016- Literary Meanderings- Guest Post

10/5/2016- YA Book Madness- Review

10/6/2016- The Cover Contessa- Interview

10/7/2016- Lady Amber’s Reviews & PR- Review

If you like any of the following, you’ll enjoy this:

Meaningful reading, 

Jordan

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s