Accountability


Let’s talk about accountability. Writing accountability. Today, I’ve decided (I know) to write. Really write. Not stare at the screen and write horrible sentences just to have something and then delete them because not only is that annoying, but it’s a waste of “me”.

Part of me feels like I should hold myself accountable, and don’t get me wrong, you should, you need to, and you should want to. But I also feel like accountability is both easier and way more scary if someone else is checking in on you. Easier because when you know someone is going to ask (and if you are honest) then you might try just a little harder to meet goals. Scary because you might fail.

I also have way too much writing sitting around…taking up space on my desktop. I love them, I want them, I feel like I’m neglecting them. But…if you have read to this point, I WOULD LOVE for for someone…anyone to be that person. The one that schedules (can you do this…I think you can) a text that says…are you writing because if not get on that.

Really what I want to get back to is writing for me. Because I’m stubborn, because I’m going to do what I want to, and because people telling me what I should or should not be doing is kind of grating…you see the dilemma.

Honestly, I don’t know 100% what I want, I’m figuring it out, and part of that process is trying new methods and discovering what works for me.

That being said, I’m going to write. If you want to shoot me a comment (or email) later and ask me how I did, I’d love to chat about it. I would also be that person for you, if you want that.

Another thought, excuse my sporadic mind, making deals with yourself. For me, if I write IDK let me set the bar low today 500 words plus, I can watch Shark Week.

-Rambler out.

UPDATE: So far (I posted this on the Facebook page first) I’ve written 300 words in my 20 minute sprint. It seems small, but they’re good words, they’re the right words, and they’re exactly what I needed to set the tone for the next chapter. I deleted an entire chapter prior to my sprint because…let me be real, those words SUCKED. Here’s the thing. You can’t be afraid to get rid of something that isn’t working. That’s how you write yourself into a corner and end up pushing aside the manuscript. It’s hard to slice and dice the words while writing, but sometimes it’s necessary to move forward. And yes, it’s terrifying watching all the words disappear. If you’re worried, save the words you’re cutting in a different doc for later. I’ve found that once they’re gone and when I go back (just out of curiosity) to check them out pages later, that I never needed them in the first place and in fact, they made the story weaker. 

3 thoughts on “Accountability

Leave a Reply

