Blog Tour and Interview: Enthrall-M.R. Reed


syn

After years of being a helpless witness to his alcoholic father’s abuse towards his family, seventeen-year-old Miles Boswell has just about reached his breaking point. He dreams of the day where he can leave everything behind and begin a new life on his own — that is, until he discovers that he has the ability to control people’s minds. Suddenly, the odds are overwhelmingly in his favor.

But what begins as the answer to all of his problems soon causes him to question his every thought when he captures the attention of August Sylvan, who seems to be the girl of his dreams. As someone who has limited experience with girls, Miles can’t help but wonder — where do his powers end, and where does reality begin?

At the same time, he finds himself at constant odds with his morals and his potentially warped sense of justice…and soon discovers that nothing is as simple as it seems

***This book contains strong language, violent scenes, and some sexual content.

int

  1. Enthrall deals with the heavy subjects of alcohol and abuse, was it challenging to write those scenes?

            It wasn’t challenging so much as the fact that it needed to come out. I grew up in a household with an alcoholic mom, and a dad who beat my mom, and it was due time for me to write about it as a way to cope with it myself.

  1. Miles struggles with morality. Sometimes the lines of right and wrong, good and bad can blur, how does this affect Miles’ character?

            It affects Miles’ character immensely! He’s faced with the reality that he can do anything he wants, with no potential repercussions. I think it’s something that anybody would struggle with, because even though –most of us– are taught right from wrong, the lure of getting away with doing immoral things is always going to be there. And his battle with that seduction to the dark side is what begins to distance him from those whom he loves the most.

  1. What do you want the reader to take away from Enthrall?

            Most importantly, I want readers to see that not all relationships run a perfect course. Sometimes people in a relationship mess up, and it shouldn’t be taken lightly. I hate seeing guys being horrible to girls in books/movies, and then the girl pouts a little bit and she’s over it. That’s so insulting to the girl involved, and to anyone who may think that it’s acceptable or normal! So…respect yourself! If you don’t like the way that someone is treating you or the things that they’re doing, don’t be afraid to walk away.

  1. What are some important themes in the book?

            Absolute power corrupts absolutely, for starters. I think it’s a great lesson in what happens when you let your demons take over. The premise may be fictional, but we all have our problems that can take control over us if we allow them. And then there’s the idea that if something seems too good to be true, it probably is. I really love Miles and August, but what’s interesting about a story where nothing ever goes wrong? 🙂 I also really like how August learns to value her family and understand how important they can be in a person’s life.

  1. Do you have a favorite line?

            I have many, but this one definitely stands out: “[It was]One of the most fulfilling and gratifying unions I had ever experienced, teetering on a wire dividing common sense and devotion.”

  1. What are some of the things you love about Miles and August?

            For Miles, one of the things that I love about him is the fact that he thinks he knows everything, but he’s so hopelessly clueless. I find that adorable, for some reason. I also love that he’s so devoted to the people he loves, even if he doesn’t always like to admit it. For August, she’s everything I wish I could have been as a teenager in many ways. She’s not flawless, but the fact that she cares so little about what others think about her is a trait to be desired, especially for a sixteen-year-old. I also admire that she knows the difference between right and wrong — an instinct in which Miles is sorely lacking — and she tries to instill that in him. And even if she’s unsuccessful, she doesn’t stray from what she knows is the right thing to do.

auth
Our formative years are the ones that stick with us the most–you know, those tirelessly frustrating yet unforgettably magical moments that shape us into the people that we will become. The music that I liked as a teenager, the books that I read, the relationships that I created (and destroyed)…those are the things that I think truly formed the adult that I am today. I still love those things. I still think about those things. I still harbor a lot of anger in relation to the events that I experienced as a teenager, and it does nothing but fuel my creative spirit.
 
And that’s what I like to write about: Teenagers, and all of their idiosyncrasies, and concerns, and that whole unintentionally egocentric view that they have about their worlds. I find it fascinating. I’m thankful every day that I’m no longer a teenager, but I have to admit that it’s a interesting time to look back on.
Miles and August encompass a lot of me, and my experiences, and my observations. The music, books, and beliefs that I held at that time inspired me to write about the events that take place in Enthrall. My intense hope is that somebody reads it and is able to relate, or get through a difficult time, and just know that somebody understands what he/she is going through (at least a little bit.) That’s what music and books did for me. I hope to pay it forward.
Keep reading, 
Jordan

 

Leave a Reply

