Review & Giveaway: Revolution-Jessica Frances


Revolution ebook revealAmazon/Goodreads

synI was raised in a world where humans no longer rule.

In the past, we made a terrible mistake by creating a new species we thought would serve us as our army, which led to our downfall.

There was a war, we lost, and many lives were massacred. It was the end of life as we knew it and the beginning of a hell we were now trapped in. We became enslaved to what we now called Superiors, becoming pets to them, simply there to entertain.

In a world so miserable, I managed to do the unthinkable: I fell in love. But even that was doomed, because to love a Superior was forbidden.

What the rest of the Superiors didn’t know was how deeply a human could love or how resilient we became when we were hurt.

The Superiors never could have imagined an uprising, which was why they never saw it coming.

Humans deserved to be free, and I would stop at nothing to deliver that promise.

My name is Tilly, and I am still alive with one sole purpose: to begin a revolution.

***

I had been raised to believe humans were worthless. We owned them and controlled them, and when we were done with them, we threw them away. Therefore, I never thought I would ever feel more for Tilly than disinterest. I never expected to want to save her.

It was forbidden for a Superior to love a human. No one had ever crossed that line, but I did. I fell madly in love with her, so it was no surprise how we ended up.

I was raised to be a soldier, and that was what I was always going to be. However, I was not a soldier for the Superiors, not anymore.

I became a soldier for humans, and I would stop at nothing to help them. They deserved to be free, and I would die protecting them.

My name is Johnny, and I am here with one sole purpose: to finish a revolution.

review

***I received this eARC as a gift in exchange for an honest review and participation in this tour

Revolution is a twist on dystopia, where the monster (humans without genetic or physical flaws) was created by humans for slavery only to have the reverse happen. Full of horrible atrocities, violence, and close-calls, Revolution will have you holding your breath scene after scene. Hope, love and determination are like balm to these wounds and spark a stunning Revolution.

PROS:

  • The organization was clever and romantic. Told from two POVs, Tilly and Johnny, Tilly’s part is in the present and Johnny’s is the past (from his childhood and when Tilly came into his life). 
  • Superiors are vile, vicious beings. They’re the despicable and disgusting part of humanity that we see everyday in traffickers, rapists, abusers, etc. Keeping humans as pets, slaves, and breeders, only to rob them of their children is appalling and nightmarish. The trauma is heartbreaking and will make you rage. The Superior world is fairly simple but doesn’t take away from its sickening impact on the humans. 
  • Tilly is brave and heartbroken but determined to end the suffering of mankind. She’s imperfect, she struggles and fights, all the while feeling like a piece of herself is missing. Confused and scared, Tilly is protagonist you can get behind because she hasn’t figured everything out and that’s okay, but she won’t stop until she can make the world better.
  • Johnny is…dreamy sigh. His sections are open and honest, full of rage and longing. Johnny does everything to please his father, to make him proud and somehow always falls short. That hurt and disappointment rained on him by his father will feel like a physical blow. As Johnny gets older, he shifts his perspective and it’s like a light bulb shining in the darkness of his quest to please his father-Tilly. ALL THE SWOONS. 
  • Charlotte is intriguing because she’s obsessed with history and books and through these and her love for Tilly, becomes a powerful activist for humans, even though she’s a Superior. Her fire and passion shift Tilly in the right direction.

CONS:

  • Pacing was off. Some scenes dragged for a while cutting into what could have been an anxiety-ridden, adrenaline rush of a moment, fell a little flat because it was too space out. 
  • The prologue/insert before Chapter 1 was hard for me to get into. It was a bit repetitive, more like a speech than anything else and while it set the stage for what was to come, much like the title does, had the story began with Chapter 1, the impact of the slavery and injustices by Superiors would have been stronger. The prologue tells you what happened, the Chapter shows you. 

Excerpt“Johnny?” Tilly whispers.

I try to tell her I’m sorry. I try to apologize for failing her, needing to tell her one last time that I love her, but my voice is trapped inside me.

Rough hands pull me away from her. I fear it is only to get a clear shot at Tilly, but the hands keep dragging me until I’m crying in pain from the jolts that each knock of the stairs give me. Then we finally make it outside where Joseph leans over me.

“You are willing to die for this human?”

I can’t answer him, but I manage to nod my head.

“Then so be it. Just know that your death has meant nothing. She will suffer because of this; I will make sure of it. Every strike, every whip, and every kick will remind her of what you have done to her and that this is your doing. She will hate you before I kill her. And mark my words, she will die. So, I hope that was worth your life.”

Adrenaline pumps through my body, but I am too weak to fight, too wrecked to do anything except keep bleeding out over the ground.

This is my fault.

Please forgive me, Tilly.

authJessica Frances is an avid reader and writer, spending most of her free time doing both. She loves delving into the paranormal world and taking a break from real life as much as possible.

Website/Facebook/Goodreads

giveawayEnter for your chance to win a $10 Amazon gift card or one of 5 copies of Haunted Love

a Rafflecopter giveaway

If you like any of the following, you’ll enjoy this:

Keep reading, 

Jordan

Leave a Reply

