ARC Review: Strong Enough-M. Leighton


51VD8dUObSL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Goodreads/Amazon/B&N/iBooks

cooltext1889161239 copyFrom the author of the New York Times bestselling Bad Boys novels comes the first in a dark, sexy contemporary trilogy.

Is she strong enough to trust the most dangerous man she’s ever met? And is he strong enough to let her?

How would I describe myself? Well, I’m Muse Harper. I’m a twenty-something painter who loves red wine, quirky movies, and men with a fatal flaw. But that was before I met Jasper King. He became my fatal flaw. Eight months ago, I had a choice to make—abandon everything I’ve ever known to protect my family, or stay and risk someone getting hurt. I chose the former. My plan was working just fine until I found out my father had gone missing.

That’s when I met Jasper. A bounty hunter with the eyes of a tiger and the nose of a bloodhound, he was supposed to help me find my father. What I didn’t know was that meeting him was no accident. Hunting people isn’t all that Jasper does. And helping me was only part of his plan. I just wish I’d found out sooner, before my heart got involved. But even then, I don’t know if I’d have done things differently.

Now, I have another choice to make—trust the man that I’m falling in love with and hope that he’ll do the right thing, or run as far away from him as I can get.

cooltext1889171582 copy4/5 Stars

***I received this eARC as a gift in exchange for an honest review via M.Leighton, NetGalley & Berkley

+++Does contain what may be triggers to some: Abuse, violence.

Strong Enough is deliciously dark and powerful. A turbulent storm of lies, a harrowing past and a deadly future, Jasper and Muse are volatile temptation in an explosive package of lust, danger, and suspense.

PROS:

  • Dear, sweet, sinfully irresistible Jasper. Holy hotness. Jasper is one of M. Leighton’s darkest characters yet. His quiet, deadly authority radiates off the page with his slow predatory prowl and hungry gaze. He’ll eat you alive and you’ll beg him to come back for seconds. Jasper has a sickening, twisted past full of deep-seeded trauma and emotional scarring. Jasper is domineering and cold one moment and feisty the next. He knows what he wants and he takes but not without a substantial amount of blunt remarks that are oh so sexy. Watching Jasper open himself up to feeling again is revitalizing and full of profound hope. Despite his best efforts to hide, there are cracks in his armor put there by his kryptonite, Muse.
  • That opening scene. My heart stopped and then shattered into a billion tiny, bleeding pieces. That little boy, OMG, how anyone could be so cruel and heartless to their own. Jasper and his mother. Like a knife to my patched up heart. Do yourself a favor and have some tissue handy. The emotions are dynamite, chaotic, and will throw you for a loop. The pain is agonizing and powerful.
  • The sex scenes are intoxicating, borderline BDSM, all about control and pleasure. The way Jasper basically growls at Muse…there are no words for that level of scorching chemistry.
  • Muse is inquisitive, artistic, and full of a slow simmering fire that ignites when she’s in the vicinity of Jasper. She pushes and forces Jasper to open up to her by not taking no for an answer.
  • The Black Ops craziness is fueled by mystery, suspense and the idea that time is running out and fast. The violence is short-lived but graphic and unsettling. 

CONS:

  • The pace starts out fairly slow and doesn’t pick up into well into the book. Despite the knowledge that Muse is desperate to find her father and worried for his safety, the car rides and tension at the hotels take away from that anxiety. The story shifts from the unwavering desire to make sure her father is okay to sizzling infatuation between Muse and Jasper.
  • Muse’s relationship with her father felt stilted. Muse is definitely a daddy’s girl however, the affection between them is almost mechanical and formal. Additionally, the story of Muse’s mother was intriguing but a pull away from the overall plot arc. What should have added another dimension Muse’s father’s complex past and guarded thoughts, only served to make them more hazy.

cooltext1889172435 copyStrongEnough-Meme5StrongEnough-Meme6StrongEnough-Meme7

 

If you like any of the following, you’ll enjoy this:

87c30-mcrtw-har-medium2b252812529dylan cover5cf15-beautiful2bcollision2bcoverBurning-Through-Gravity-by-Addison-MooreRoS_1600px

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

cooltext1754437870 copy

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Strong Enough-M. Leighton

Leave a Reply

