Review: Nocte-Courtney Cole


NOCTE-cover-600pxGoodreads/Amazon/B&N/iBooks

cooltext1807812709 copyMy name is Calla Price. I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole. 

My other half– my twin brother, my Finn– is crazy.

I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me.

I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day. So I reach out for a lifeline.

Dare DuBray.

He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me.

He has the power to destroy me.

Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt.

Why? Because of a secret.

A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming.

You won’t either.

– via Goodreads

cooltext1807831675 copy

3/5 Stars

PROS:

  • The cover. It’s breathtaking. Beautiful. it captures the darkness, the burst of light is a little like hope. It’s mysterious and whimsical, the kind of cover that haunts your dreams with want and envy. 
  • The mystery is like a live wire. It’s a living, breathing entity of its own. The secret will drive you mad with the desire to unravel it. Prepare yourself to be astounded. Twisted and shocking, the secret will blow everything you thought you knew wide open and leave you shaky and unsure of what just happened.
  • Finn’s mind is a terrifying place made of desperation and sadness. It’s erratic, broken, and full of whispered voices that cut like knives. What’s real and what’s fantasy blur. Knowing that Finn suffers from SAD makes his character far more heartbreaking. His helplessness evokes sympathy and pain. The constant reference to his secret, one that’s so horrible it would kill Calla if she knew is enough to put you on edge for the entire book. It’s a rollercoaster ride. Definitely. 
  • Dare is an enigma. He’s sexy, soulful, and in many ways jaded. His eyes are full of secrets. His body says one thing, his words another. He’s romantic one second, angry the next. He’s hard to follow. It’s difficult to truly know him and what he’s thinking. Dare is a puzzle. A hot, flirty puzzle with depth.

CONS:

  • Nocte felt confused as a story. For a substantial part of the book, it dragged on and I felt that it morphed into a romance. One that was complex and convoluted, it took over what began as something raw and emotionally stimulating and made it, a little dull. Dare and Calla were cute but I found myself hungering for Finn and Calla, their unique, codependence that bordered on toxic but necessary. That dynamic was fresh, powerful, and the connection between Calla and Finn more interesting than Dare and Calla’s moderately easy romance. 
  • Calla was kind of blah. I found myself wondering about her, who she was, what she wanted, her likes her dislikes. It was like she didn’t have an opinion for a large chunk of the book. Nothing was about her. She was so concerned with Finn and the guilt that she got mixed in with everything else, indistinguishable. But then, she comes into her own sexually and the awakening sparks a promise that Calla, the real Calla will come out and we’ll be gifted the chance to know her. It became more about her sexual urges and attraction than about who she is as a person.
  • Here’s the thing. There’s been a substantial amount of hype around this book. Everytime I hit social media it was there, talked about in some form or another. I kept hearing about the darkness. How twisted and dark the story was in general and then I read the little author tidbit about writing this story despite its dark, dark ways. So I went in expecting something much more sinister than what I got. I was a little disappointed. It felt tame. Now, before the pitchforks come out, I enjoyed this book. Did I love it? No. Will I read the sequel? Hell yes. While Nocte left me feeling apathetic, I couldn’t put it down. The suspense, the drama with Finn, even the ups and downs of Calla and Dare  sucked me in. I read it for the psychological cluster but got caught up in the love story and lost in the climax. 

Happy reading,

cooltext1754437870 copy

Leave a Reply

